“The Price of Words” Extras

If you liked my short story, The Price of Words,” check out the extras below!

Pinterest board with images that remind me of “Price”:

Playlist with songs that remind me of “Price”:

Two music videos feature girls wearing white while singing by the ocean, and two feature random people busting moves. This was unintentional, but it kind of makes me happy!

It’s the lyrics in the songs, not the music videos, that I connect to my story, so listen closely! =)

“You shout it out
But I can’t hear a word you say
I’m talking loud not saying much…”

“Do you ever wonder what happens to the words that we send
Do they bend, do they break from the flight that they take
And come back together again with a whole new meaning
In a brand new sense, completely unrelated to the one I sent…”

“Nothing’s gonna hurt you the way that words do
And they settle ‘neath your skin
Kept on the inside and no sunlight
Sometimes a shadow wins
But I wonder what would happen if you
Say what you wanna say
And let the words fall out…”

“And all those things I didn’t say
Wrecking balls inside my brain
I will scream them loud tonight
Can you hear my voice this time?”

“I got that sunshine in my pocket
Got that good soul in my feet…”

Okay, so the lyrics to this song don’t fit like the others do, but I imagine the main character feeling the way this song makes me feel at the end of the story. And…it’s Justin Timberlake. 😉

I ordered these songs in a way that I feel fits the emotional arc of the main character (how she feels from the beginning to the end of the plot). Hope you enjoy!

*Please preview these if you plan to use them in a classroom setting. It may be best to play some of the songs using audio only instead of showing the music videos. Extension questions coming soon!

Leave a Reply

